Scott Monge Discusses the Importance of Georgia’s Booster Seat Laws
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, there are more than 60 million children in the United States who are under the age of 14. Unfortunately, car accident injuries are a leading cause of death among children in this country—especially for those between the ages of 3 and 14.
Of all traffic fatalities in 2008, children under the age of 14 accounted for 4 percent. Children also account for up to 8 percent of all serious traffic accident injuries each year.
It may not be possible to avoid all accidents, particularly when negligent drivers are involved, but there are measures that parents can take to protect their children’s lives. Booster seats can be especially effective at ensuring safety in the event of a crash, and it can be beneficial to understand why the state of Georgia has implemented strict laws regarding them.
At Monge & Associates, we know that negligent drivers cause many serious accidents, and even the most responsible parents have to face the reality of expensive medical bills following unforeseen collisions. Scott Monge is an Atlanta personal-injury lawyer with many years of experience, and Monge & Associates can evaluate the circumstances surrounding your claim.
If you have a valid claim, you may be able to recover medical expenses or compensation for pain and suffering. Call us today at 1-800-676-4878 to schedule an appointment, and we will help you through the process. In the meantime, read on for more information regarding booster seat laws in Georgia.
Georgia’s Booster Seat Law
According to the University of Georgia, Georgia has a law that requires children under the age of 8 to sit in a safety or booster seat that is appropriate for their height and weight when traveling in a vehicle. Parents must also ensure that children use the seat in the correct manner according to the manufacturer’s instructions. The law, which came into effect in July 2011, also requires that children under the age of 8 ride in the back seat of the car.
Exceptions to the Booster Seat Law
Georgia’s booster seat law has some exceptions, particularly with regard to children under 8 riding in the rear of the car. The primary exception involves cars with inadequate rear seating or situations when other children are occupying all of the rear seats. In this case, a child can sit up front, provided he or she has adequate restraints and seating that is appropriate for his or her height and weight.
Children are particularly susceptible to serious injuries in the event of a crash. It is important to take all necessary precautions to protect them, and booster seats are essential in this regard.
If your child suffers serious injuries in a motor vehicle accident, give Atlanta personal-injury attorney Scott Monge a call. At Monge & Associates, initial consultations are free. Call us today at 1-800-676-4878 to schedule an appointment — Because You Want to Win.